John E. Thompson, Jr.

President & Executive Director

John Thompson has been the President of the National Society of Institutional Investment Professionals since founding the organization in 2006. In July 2012, he was named Executive Director with responsibilities that include coordinating the organization’s annual Summit. He has more than 28 years of institutional investment experience with taxable trusts, corporate and public pensions, and foundation assets.

Bill Blythe

bill.blythe2Vice President

Bill is an associate real estate broker with Martha Turner Sotheby's International Realty in Houston and The Woodlands. He provides over forty years of real estate expertise to his many clients, having been involved in commercial and residential sales, building, and developing. He is an Accredited Buyer Representative (ABR ).

Jim Harrell


Jim Harrell is the President of the World Giving Community Foundation. He combines a background with for-profit financial institutions and charitable entities. He served as the charitable liaison for Republic Bank and Northern Trust and the finance officer for Southwestern Medical Foundation.

David J. Pittman

david.pittman2Vice President

Mr. Pittman is Vice Chair of NSIIP' Board and Advisor to NSIIP's Texas Advisory Board and retired from PIMCO, formerly a Senior Vice President & Southern Regional Director for PIMCO Institutional Services in California for 15 years. Prior to PIMCO, he was a Senior Vice President & Regional Director with The Northern Trust Company in Chicago, Bank of America in California, and Republic Bank in Dallas.

Randall L. Kopsa


Randy Kopsa served the Boy Scouts of America as the Treasury Manager for over 20 years before retiring November 2015.   His office was comprised of the Chief Investment Officer, the Directors of Insurance and Risk Management, Credit and Collections, Cashier Services and Treasury Operations and their respective staffs.

Bruce Cox

bruce.coxDirector Emeritus 

Bruce Cox served on the Board of Directors of the Employees' Retirement Fund, City of Fort Worth from 1978 until 2008. He also is on the Board of Directors of the National Society of Institutional Investment Professionals and is a member of the Society of Pension Professionals.